Skip to main content

The Science Teacher Editorial Board

The Science Teacher is an award-winning, peer-reviewed, practitioners' journal for grade 9-12 teachers, university faculty responsible for teacher preparation, and state and district science supervisors and leaders. The Science Teacher is published six times a year and is available in print and as an e-journal. The Science Teacher subscribers are members of the National Science Teaching Association who select it as their preferred journal. We hope you will consider writing a manuscript for The Science Teacher to interest our readers and enhance high school science teaching. NSTA offers no remuneration for published articles.

Editor Ann Haley Mackenzie

Managing Editor Peter Lindeman

Art Director Will Thomas

Printing & Production Manager Catherine Lorrain

Electronic Prepress Technician Jack Parker

Executive Director Erika Shugart

Advertising Director Jason Sheldrake


President Elizabeth Allan, University of Central Oklahoma, Edmond, OK

Retiring President Dennis Schatz, Pacific Science Center, Seattle, WA

President Elect Eric J. Pyle, James Madison University, Harrisonburg, VA


Michael Shupe (Chairperson), Waukon Senior High, Waukon, IA

Kevin Fleming, The George Washington University, Washington, DC

Claire Gilmour, Leduc Composite High School, Leduc, AB

Samantha Johnson, Arroya High School, San Lorenzo, CA

Krishna R. Millsapp, Mount Carmel High School, Chicago, IL

Jessica Mulhern, Howard County Public Schools, Ellicott City, MD

Kelly Mulligan, Carmel Academy, Greenwich, CT

Rich Piper, Union Star R2 School District, Union Star, MO

Scott Spector, Santa Barbara County Education Office, Santa Barbara, CA

Brenda Walsh, Eden Prairie High School, Eden Prairie, MN

Linda Cook, Coppell Independent School District, Copell, TX

Review Panel

Issam Abi-El-Mona, Rowan University

Emily Abrams, Travis HS

Amy Alexander, Trine University

Evelyn Alexander, Professional Children's School

Marti Andreski, Wando High School

Lawrence Anglada, Zion-Benton Township HS

Allison Antink-Meyer, Illinois State University

Comfort Ateh, Providence College

Janelle Bailey, Temple University

Kate Baird, Indiana University–Purdue University Columbus

Stacey Balbach, Cuba City School District

Meena Balgopal, Colorado State University

Daniel J. Bergman, Wichita State University

Jesse Bernstein, Miami Country Day School

Gregory Bisbee, Arrowhead High School

Alec Bodzin, Lehigh University

Randy Booth, Itineris Early College High School

Heather Brasell, Valdosta State University

David Brock, Roland Park Country School

Todd Campbell, University of Connecticut

Ying-Chi Chen, Arizona State University

Heidi Cian, Clemson University

Vicki Clark, Virginia Institute of Marine Science

Kabba Colley, Eduinformatics

Robert Cooper, Pennsbury High School

Mindy Cottrell, Princeton City School District

Beth Covitt, University of Montana

Chrissy Cross, Stephen F. Austin State University

Beverly R. DeVore-Wedding, Meeker High School

Michael Dias, Kennesaw State University

Amy Dusto

Kevin Fleming, Area Cooperative Educational Services

Julie Gaubatz, Hinsdale South High School

David Gettman, University High School

Letitia Glover, Therrell High School

Rachelle Haroldson, University of Wisconsin

Jessica Harrell, Brick Education Network

Lacey Huffling, University of North Carolina at Greensboro

George Larsen, West Orange High School

Norman Lederman, Illinois Institute of Technology

Peter Licona, Elizabethtown College

Sam Long, Standley Lake High School

Michael Lowry, The McCallie School



Gregory MacDougall, Virginia Department of Education

Jennifer Maeng, University of Virginia

Terry Maksymowych, Academy of Notre Dame de Namur

Michelle Marcil-Spicer, Stratford High School

Kurtz Miller, Miami University (OH)

Christopher Monsour, Tiffin Columbian High School

Amy Murphy

Nathan James Mutic, Joplin High School

Apryl Nenortas, Butler Community College

Kelly Obarski

Joel Palmer, Mesquite Independent School District

Heidi Paterson, Preeceville School

Tyler Perry

Frances Poodry, Vernier Software and Technology

Kristen Rademaker

Anna Rizzacasa

Christopher Roemmele

Lauren Rentfro, Lewis University

Patricia Rourke

Jenna Sanei, Loyola University Chicago

Cynthia Sargent, Yuba City High School

Christine Schnittka, University of Kentucky

Ozden Sengul, Georgia State University

Carrie Ann Sharitt, Miami University (OH)

Carrie-Anne Sherwood, Connecticut Science Center

Tom Shoberg

Alexandra Siy, Blind Brook High School

Shannon Smith, University of Cincinnati 

Panagiotis Stasinakis, Ampelokipoi Laboratory

Kathleen P. Steele, Pius X High School

Brian Terry, Hewlett-Woodmere Public Schools

Robyn Tornabene, Long Beach High School

Joyce Tugel, Maine Mathematics and Science Alliance

Pete Vreeland

Diane Vrobel, Archbishop Hoban High School

Eric Walters, Marymount School

Karen Wellner, Chandler-Gilbert Community College

Brooke Whitworth, University of Mississippi

Asset 2