Skip to main content

Press Release

National Science Teaching Association Welcomes New Board and Council Members

ARLINGTON, Va.—June 15, 2020—The National Science Teaching Association, the largest professional organization in the world promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all, welcomed four new members to its Board of Directors and six new members to its Council.

“I am pleased to welcome our newest Board and Council members,” said Elizabeth Allan, NSTA President. “Each of these individuals brings a unique background with diverse experiences and a passionate commitment to the association and quality science education.”  

The new board members join a 13-member board that oversees NSTA’s finances, policies and procedures, and strategic planning. New board members include:

  • Eric J. Pyle, NSTA President-Elect
    Professor, Department of Geology and Environmental Science, James Madison University, Harrisonburg, Virginia
  • Donna Governor, NSTA Division Director, Preservice Teacher PreparationAssistant Professor of Science Education, University of North Georgia, Dahlonega, Georgia
  • Alicia Conerly, NSTA Division Director, Multicultural/Equity in Science Education
    Assistant Principal, Lawrence County School District, Jayess, Mississippi
  • Cynthia D. Crockett, NSTA Division Director, Research in Science Education
    Science Education Specialist/Education Researcher, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, Science Education Department, Cambridge, Massachusetts

Comprised of 18 district directors, each member of the council is the official representative of NSTA in his/her geographic district and serves as the primary liaison on issues of importance to science and improvement of science education at all levels. The council functions as the advisory body to the board of directors. New council members include:

  • Susan Meabh Kelly, NSTA District I Director (Connecticut, Massachusetts, Rhode Island)
    Science Teacher, Henry Technical Abbott High School, Danbury, Connecticut
  • Michelle Ellis, NSTA District VI Director (North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee)
    Science Teacher, Hunter Huss High School, Gastonia, North Carolina
  • Jacob Hayward, NSTA District VII Director (Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi)
    Principal, Siloam Springs Middle School, Siloam Springs, Arkansas
  • Brian Klaft, NSTA District XII Director (Illinois, Iowa, Wisconsin)
    Science Teacher, Francis Granger Middle School, Aurora, Illinois
  • Terry White, NSTA District XIII Director (New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas)
    District Elementary Science Lead, Spring Branch ISD, Houston, Texas
  • Marilyn Webster, NSTA District XVIII Director (Canada)
    Science Education Advisor, Greenfield, Nova Scotia, Canada

For a complete listing of the NSTA Board of Directors and Council, please visit

About NSTA

The Arlington, VA-based National Science Teaching Association is the largest professional organization in the world promoting excellence in science teaching and learning, preschool through college. NSTA’s membership includes approximately 50,000 science teachers, science supervisors, administrators, scientists, business representatives, and others involved in science education.


Kate Falk, NSTA
(703) 312-9211

# # #

Asset 2