Skip to main content

Press Release

Applications Open for the 2021-2022 NSTA Awards Program

More than $60,000 in Cash and Prizes Awarded Annually to Educators

ARLINGTON, Va.—October 18, 2021—The National Science Teaching Association (NSTA) is now accepting applications for its 2021-2022 Awards Program. NSTA Awards honor K–12 teachers, principals, professors, and other education professionals for their outstanding work and achievement in science and STEM education.

Applications are open for:

  • Angela Award, sponsored by NSTA
  • Corteva Excellence in Agricultural Science Education Award, sponsored by Corteva
  • Distinguished Informal Science Education Awards, sponsored by NSTA
  • Distinguished Service to Science Education Awards, sponsored by NSTA
  • Distinguished Teaching Awards, sponsored by NSTA
  • Maitland P. Simmons Memorial Award for New Teachers, sponsored by NSTA
  • Northrop Grumman Foundation Excellence in Engineering Education Award, sponsored by the Northrop Grumman Foundation
  • NSTA Fellow Award, sponsored by NSTA
  • NSTA Legacy Award, sponsored by NSTA
  • Robert E. Yager Exemplary Teaching Award, sponsored by an endowment from Robert Yager
  • Robert H. Carleton Award, sponsored by NSTA
  • Shell Science Teaching Award, sponsored by Shell
  • Shell Urban Science Educators Development Award, sponsored by Shell
  • Sylvia Shugrue Award for Elementary School Teachers, sponsored by an endowment from Sylvia Shugrue
  • Vernier Software & Technology Awards, sponsored by Vernier Software & Technology

In addition to cash and prizes, all award winners will be formally recognized during the NSTA National Conference on Science Education in Houston, Texas. Potential applicants are encouraged to attend the free web seminar, Developing a Competitive Teacher Award Application, on November 4, to learn more about the application process for the 2021-2022 academic year. The presenter will also share application tips on how to strengthen your submission.

Applications for the Shell Science Teaching Award and the Shell Urban Science Educators Development Award are due December 17. All other applications are due December 15. For more information about the NSTA Awards Program or to apply or nominate someone for an award, visit

About NSTA
The National Science Teaching Association (NSTA) is a vibrant community of 40,000 science educators and professionals committed to best practices in teaching science and its impact on student learning. NSTA offers high quality science resources and continuous learning so that science educators grow professionally and excel in their career. For new and experienced teachers alike, the NSTA community offers the opportunity to network with like-minded peers at the national level, connect with mentors and leading researchers, and learn from the best in the field.

# # #

Kate Falk, NSTA
(703) 312-9211

Asset 2