Skip to main content

Press Release

National Science Teaching Association Names 2022 Recipients of its Awards Program

Top Science Educators from Around the Country Honored in Celebration of Excellence

ARLINGTON, Va.—March 28, 2022—The National Science Teaching Association (NSTA) announced the recipients of its 2022 NSTA Awards program, which honors K–12 teachers, principals, professors and other science education professionals for their outstanding work and achievement in science education. Awardees will be recognized during a special evening celebration taking place during the NSTA National Conference on Science Education in Houston, Texas on April 1.

“Congratulations to all of the award winners on their success,” said Eric Pyle, NSTA President. “Each one of these incredible educators has repeatedly gone above and beyond their role as a teacher to inspire their students and colleagues, helping them move towards a brighter future, and demonstrating what is possible in science teaching and learning.”

NSTA is honoring the following award recipients:

Angela Award

  • Lydia Denton, Science Student, Sallie B Howard School of the Arts and Science, Wilson, North Carolina

Corteva Excellence in Agricultural Science Education Award, sponsored by Corteva Agriscience

  • Lynn Prosen, Lower School Science and STREAMS Teacher, Gill St. Bernard's School, Gladstone, New Jersey

eCYBERMISSION Team Advisor National Recognition, sponsored by the U.S. Army Educational Outreach Program (AEOP)

  • 6th Grade Teacher Awardee: Laura Stary, Southcrest Christina School, Lubbock, Texas
  • 7th Grade Teacher Awardee: Sharmila Murthy, Rachel Carson Middle School, Herndon, Virginia
  • 8th Grade Teacher Awardee: Ananth Sankaranarayanan, Community Group: RoboRink, Portland, Oregon
  • 9th Grade Teacher Awardee: Subbarao Meduri, Enloe Magnet High School, Raleigh, North Carolina

Maitland P. Simmons Memorial Award for New Teachers

  • Alexander Eden, Science Teacher, Greater Lowell Technical High School, Tyngsborough, Massachusetts
  • Carey Hancey-Shier, IMS Teacher, Grace E Metz Middle School, Lorton, Virginia
  • Jenniffer Stetler, STEAM Teacher, Chamblee Middle School, Tucker, Georgia
  • Julia Navarro, Biology Teacher, Wheeling High School, Wheeling, Illinois

Northrop Grumman Excellence in Engineering Education Award, sponsored by the Northrop Grumman Foundation

  • Bruce Wellman, Chemistry & Engineering Teacher, Olathe Engineering Academy @ Olathe Northwest High School, Olathe, Kansas

NSTA Distinguished Informal Science Education

  • Christine Moskalik, Curriculum & Professional Development Specialist, Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy, Aurora, Illinois
  • Karen Hays, School & Teacher Partnerships Manager, Denver Zoological Foundation, Denver, Colorado

NSTA Legacy Award, posthumous recognition

  • Norman G. Lederman, Distinguished Professor, Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago, Illinois

Robert H. Carleton Award for National Leadership in the Field of Science Education

  • Dennis Schatz, Senior Fellow, Institute for Learning Innovation, Seattle, Washington

Robert E. Yager Foundation Excellence in Teaching Awards

  • Johanna Brown, District XVII, Chemistry and Computer Science Teacher, Pullman High School, Pullman, Washington
  • Breanna K. Calkins, District III, Science Teacher, North Hagerstown High School, Hagerstown, Maryland

Shell Science Teaching Award, sponsored by Shell

  • AwardeeCharles Hayes, Elementary Science Teacher Highland Oaks Elementary School, Memphis, Tennessee
  • Finalist: Angela “Lacey” Hoosier, Science Teacher, Buckeye High School, Deville, Louisiana
  • Finalist: Jennie Warmouth, Elementary Science Teacher, Spruce Elementary School, Edmonds School District, Linwood, Washington

Shell Science Lab Regional Challenge, sponsored by Shell, outfitted by Carolina Biological Supply Company

  • Grand Prize Winner (Elementary School Level): Gwenevere Jones and Jennifer Murphy-Feagin, Craighead Elementary School, Mobile, Alabama
  • Grand Prize Winner (Middle School Level): Samantha Mendenhall, Port Allen Middle School, Port Allen, Louisiana
  • Grand Prize Winners (High School Level): Jessica Thomas, Pecos High School, Pecos, Texas

Shell Urban Science Educator Development Award, sponsored by Shell

  • Sheena Carbaugh, Science Teacher, Girls Leadership Academy, Phoenix, Arizona
  • Arlevia Davis, Science Teacher, Mansfield Legacy High School, Mansfield, Texas
  • Candace Edmerson, Science Teacher, Duncanville High School Collegiate Academy, Duncanville, Texas
  • Carla Marie Neely, Elementary Science Teacher, Warner Girls' Leadership Academy, Cleveland, Ohio
  • Christal Scott, Elementary Science Teacher, Crystal Hill Elementary School, North Little Rock, Arkansas
  • Eunique M. Sharman, Science Teacher, Odyssey Academy Galveston, Galveston, Texas
  • Selene Verhofstad, Science Teacher, Dobie High School, Houston, Texas

Sylvia Shugrue Award for Elementary School Teachers

  • Darcie Fregoe, Elementary Science Teacher/Massena Central School District, Madison Elementary School, Massena, New York

Vernier Software & Technology Awards, sponsored by Vernier Software & Technology

  • High School Level: Crystal McDowell, Secondary Science Educator, Science Department Chair, Greenbrier High School, Evans, Georgia
  • High School Level: Olivia Kuper, Chemistry & Scientific Research Teacher, North Greene High School, Greeneville, Tennessee
  • Middle Level: Eric Sullenberger, Physical Sciences Teacher, Russia Local School, Russia, Ohio

NSTA encourages science educators to apply for its 2023 NSTA Awards. For information, visit

About NSTA
The National Science Teaching Association (NSTA) is a vibrant community of 40,000 science educators and professionals committed to best practices in teaching science and its impact on student learning. NSTA offers high quality science resources and continuous learning so that science educators grow professionally and excel in their career. For new and experienced teachers alike, the NSTA community offers the opportunity to network with like-minded peers at the national level, connect with mentors and leading researchers, and learn from the best in the field.

# # #

Kate Falk, NSTA
(703) 312-9211

Asset 2