Skip to main content
 

Call to Action for Science Education

Science Education Should Be A National Priority

 
Date:

Monday September 27, 2021

Time:

7:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM CT / 5:00 PM MT / 4:00 PM PT


 

The Call to Action for Science Education: Building Opportunity for the Future—issued by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine (NASEM) and funded by Carnegie Corporation—lays out a vision for high-quality science education, describes the gaps in opportunity that currently exist for many students, and outlines key priorities to advance better, more equitable science education across K-16.

The report calls on federal and state policy makers to:

Raise the profile of science education and elevate the importance of access to high quality science learning opportunities for all students across K-16

Foster the creation of local and regional alliances to advance better, more equitable science education across communities

Institutionalize mechanisms to track progress and determine where there are disparities in access to high-quality science learning experiences

Body

Read the report and the NASEM action areas and recommendations

Asset 2